How the Brazilian Ethos Contributed to the Coronavirus Chaos

Brazil has the second biggest Coronavirus death-toll in the planet and the highest number of daily victims for the last two weeks.

Levi Borba
3 min readJul 10, 2020

--

Photo by Vinicius “amnx” Amano on Unsplash

This desperate situation came with a myriad of geopolitical analyses blaming politicians, control methods, and sources of information.

However, there is one aspect forgotten by virtually everyone:

The Brazilian Ethos, and how it contributes to worsening the pandemic.

As a Brazilian myself, I understand that most of my fellow compatriots cannot see this problem. If I was still there, it would be equally invisible to me.

Living in Poland (one of the most successful countries in the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic), I saw how the contrasting cultural differences helped one country while aggravated the situation in the other.

So in this article, I will compare one of the clashing differences between Brazilian and Polish behavior.

I am not saying this is the sole reason for the Brazilian failure or Polish success. Just an additional one, often neglected despite its importance. And of course: there are plenty of exceptions in what I…

--

--