The 5 Imperatives of All Business Survival Strategies

These 5 little words helped my business to survive the 2020/21 crisis.

Levi Borba
7 min readJan 17, 2022

--

Image by Jan Vašek from Pixabay

I have one word of encouragement for you if you’re a business owner in the travel and tourism sector, or the events industry, or the restaurant industry, or in any of the countless other industries that have been adversely affected by this devastating crisis:

You have my admiration.

You deserve to be respected because you are playing this game on the hard mode.

I am also playing this game. Despite the fact that the last two years were not the best year for business, some aspects of my business improved. And some new habits appeared to be fruitful.

One is to compare how other entrepreneurs handled difficult situations. Something that is well described in this book. I wanted to emulate their success and learn from their mistakes.

Then I came across Scott Belsky, a successful company founder who talks about how to be a better entrepreneur. To this day, there are more than 10 million people on the platform he founded, Behance. In his speeches and book, he speaks about a very interesting axiom.

A single sentence, with five imperatives, sums this axiom:

--

--