Why I Am Leaving Medium

And Where Else Can You Find Our In-Depth Articles From Now

Levi Borba
3 min readAug 16, 2023

--

It was a great ride. Thank you all!

Over the years (Since 2020, to be more exact), Medium has been a platform where I could discuss important topics like economics and retirement abroad.

More than 800,000 readers dedicated their time to my writings and shared their own insights. We learned together in this process.

Like the day one of my articles (How the World’s 8th Richest Man Lost 99.6% of His Fortune) went over 130 thousand reads, becoming one of the most-read pieces in its area. Many others went well over 50K viewers.

Thank you all again for that!

But like almost everything, times change, and this journey of writing for Medium, at least for me, is coming to an end.

Why?

Recently, Medium changed its monetization algorithm.

Before, we (writers) were paid based on the time that each reader spent on our articles.

That was very beneficial to me. I write long, detailed pieces about economics, investments, and retirement abroad. Often, my articles (like this one) pass the threshold of 1000 read-hours.

That paid well.

--

--